Minimum attendance criteria – eligibility for trophies/awards
To be eligible to receive ANY AWARD (i.e. Most Improved, Improvement, Participation, Point
Score Champion, Perpetual Trophy or Tiny Tot award), an athlete must have attended a minimum of 50% of competition nights, which must include attending at least two competition nights after the Christmas break. This excludes the IWLAC Games Awards, which is based on the performance of each event on the night of the IWLAC Games.

Little Athletics encourages all athletes to develop confidence and skills by regular participation, to compete to the best of their ability and to improve personal performances over the season.

Point scoring criteria
Every athlete receives a minimum of 1 point for every event in which they compete. If an athlete equals their previous best time/distance/height they are awarded 1 extra point, totaling 2 points for that event. If an athlete improves their time/distance/height from their previous best for the season they are awarded an extra 2 points, totaling 3 points for that event. This points system is referred to here as PB points.
Please note that points will be accrued for ALL events including the Walk, Javelin and the 3km.

IWLAC Most Improved Athlete:
This award is presented to the most improved athlete or athletes (if there is tie) across all age groups determined by the accumulation of the highest amount of PB points scored over the course of the season.

Point Score Award:
Points will be allocated each week on the basis of performances in each event using PLACE POINTS. Place points are allocated to athletes based on their results for each event in which they compete within their age group. First place receives 10 points, second place 9 points, third place 8 points, and so on down to 1 point for tenth place. After tenth place every athlete receives 1 point for competing. At the end of the season the best 5 performances for each athlete across all events will be calculated for each age group and 1st, 2nd and 3rd place trophies will be determined for both male and female athletes.

Improvement Award:
This award is presented to the athletes who have accumulated the most PB points in their age group over the course of the season in order of 1st, 2nd and 3rd

Participation Awards:
  • Participation Awards: This recognizes participation of athletes who have not received any of the major Awards listed above.
  • Tiny Tot Awards: All Tiny Tots satisfying the attendance criteria will receive a participation award.
IWLAC Games Awards
Athletes will compete in their age groups across 4 events throughout the night with placings calculated for each event. Placings are determined by overall time/distance/height for every event in each age group